Govt. still to decide on Paralympians' rewards


Government is still to decide on what rewards to give to the two Paralympians who won five medals between them at the recent 2016 Paralympics.

Johannes Nambala won two silvers in the men’s T13, 100 metre (m) and 400m sprints, while and Ananias Shikongo won one gold and two bronze medals in the men’s T11, 100m, 200m and 400m categories at the Paralympic Games held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from 05 to 18 September.

Paralympians arrived last night


Namibia’s 2016 Paralympians arrived last night at the Hosea Kutako International Airport (HKIA) at 21h30 from the Paralympic Games which ended in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil on Sunday.

A short welcoming ceremony took place at the airport, where the Deputy Minister of Sports, Youth and Culture Agnes Tjongarero was expected to deliver welcoming remarks.

Namibia seventh in Africa at Paralympic Games


Namibia ended seventh overall out of the more than 40 African countries that participated in the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The games that started on 07 September ended on Sunday, with a closing ceremony at the Maracaña stadium.

Namibia won five medals overall to beat their all-time record of three medals since the Namibia National Paralympic Committee (NPC) joined the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) in 1999.

Johannes Nambala and Ananias Shikongo collectively won five medals.

Shikongo wins bronze in 400m at Paralympic Games


Paralympic sprinter Ananias Shikongo and his guide Sem Shimanda won the fifth medal for Namibia at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Saturday night.

They won the medal in the men’s T11, 400 metre (m) after finishing third behind World champion Gerard Puigdevall Descarrega of Spain and his guide Marcos Exposito Blanquino, who won that race with a European record of 50.22 seconds.

Home favourite Felipe Gomes finished second with a personal best of 50.38 seconds.

Shikingo who ran his personal best of 50.63 secured his third medal at the competition.

2016 Namibia Sports Awards launched


The Namibia Sports Commission on Wednesday launched the 2016 Namibia Sports Awards in the capital.

This year's awards will be held on 28 October 2016, under the theme ‘Thriving in the Namib’ with between 500 and 600 people expected to attend.

Speaking at the launch, acting Chief Administrator of the Namibia Sports Commission (NSC), Walter Haoseb said this year's event will be bigger and better.

“We want to celebrate the champions of sports by recognising and showcasing talent. We will be honouring our outstanding heroes in the various sporting codes,” he said.

Ragga Dancehall Top 10 with Dazzle

Elsabe Tibinyane

10. Gytption - Down In Deh
9. Patoranking - Love You Die
8. 2Kingz - Bend Down

7. David Lion - Cast Away
6. Kim Kelly - Alive
5. Macka Diamond - Shake

4. Iba Mahr - Get Up & Show
3. Stylo G - Yusimme Yard
2. Kalado - Adultery

1. Wizkid - Naughty Ride

Movie Releases

Release Date: Jun 3, 2016...

Release Date: Jun 10, 2016...