Big Ben, Chikune win big


Big Ben and Chikune were crowned best male and female artist of the year at the Namibia Annual Music Awards (NAMA) Mainstream Awards in the capital on Saturday.

The awards ceremony saw 19 categories contested, but it was in the categories of best male and female artist of the year where things got interesting as Namibia’s finest artists went head-to-head.

The Best Male Artist of the Year category was tightly contested as eventual winner Big Ben faced stiff competition from one of the country’s most decorated artists, The Dogg (who won three awards on the night), Valentino, Swart Baster, LMPC and Exit.

In his acceptance speech, Big Ben urged other artists to embrace local languages.
“Sometimes we want to impress outsiders but I think if we valued and embrace our culture and languages more the people we’re trying to impress will respect us more,” he said.

Similarly, the category for Best Female Artist of the Year was closely contested by Freeda, Ann Singer (who won four awards on the night), Chikune (the winner), Sanet Lambrechts, Treasure and Damara Punch sensation Female Donkey.

However, Chikune beat off her competition with her album ‘In with the New’.
The winners were as follows:

Best Album of the Year - Ann Singer ‘Bulletproof’

Best Male Artist of the Year - Big Ben ‘Back To The Basics’

Best Female Artist of the Year – Chikune ‘In With The New’

Best Duo/Group of the Year - Tswazis ‘Go Getter’

Best Newcomer of the Year - Ann Singer ‘Bulletproof’

Best Afro Pop (inclusive of Township Disco) - Ann Singer ‘Diminengepo’

Best Collaboration - Paradox ‘Mr Well Done ft. Riky Rick’

Best Damara Punch - Female Donkey ‘Choma’

Best House - The Dogg ‘The Kings ft. Speedy’

Best Kwaito - The Dogg ‘Got It All’

Best Music Video - KK & Desmond ‘Already’

Best Oviritje - Triple 'T' ‘Maria’

Best RnB - Ann Singer ‘Bulletproof’

Best Rap/Hip-Hop - N.I.A ‘Better Dayz’ ft. Desmond

Best Soukous/Kwasa - Ama-Daz-Floor ‘True Colour’ ft. Dama Monique

Best Traditional - Big Ben ‘Ovombo’

NAMA Special Recognition Award - Ndilima‎ni Cultural Group

Song of the Year - The Dogg ‘Shuukifa Kwii’

Pan African Artist of the Year - Roberto ‘Zambia’

The best female and male artist of the year took home N.dollars 100 000 in cash and a brand new Toyota Prestige valued at N.dollars 290 000.

Ragga Dancehall Top 10 with Dazzle

Elsabe Tibinyane

10. Jahmiel - Different level
09. Patoranking - Love you die
08. Wizkid - Naughty ride

07. Vershon - Te Amo
06. Charly Black - Right De Suh
05. Rdx Shake your - Bam Bam

04. 2Kingz - Bend Down
03. Tarrus riley - There Is A Way
02. Morgan Heritage - We Are

01. Dre Island - We Pray

Movie Releases

Opening Date: Friday, 17...

Opening Date: Saturday, 25...